

## State of North Carolina Credit Union Division

Josh Stein Governor Kristina Ray Administrator

## Claim of Exemption from the NC SAFE Act

## **General Information and Instructions**

North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 53, Article 19B (NC Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act ("NC SAFE Act")) requires that residential mortgage lenders, brokers, servicers and mortgage loan originators, be licensed by the Commissioner of Banks unless exempt by law from this requirement. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 53-244.040(d). Entities exempt under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 53-244.040(d)(5) and (7) are required to file a claim of exemption under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 53-244.050(g), for which there is no filing fee. **NOTE**: Employees of exempt entities are exempt from the NC SAFE Act's loan originator licensure requirement and will be treated as such without filing individually.

Use this form to claim exemption from licensure. Please review the form carefully and give full and complete responses to each question. If a particular item does not apply, you must enter "None" or "N/A" (not applicable). When called for herein, disclosure of taxpayer ID numbers/social security numbers is necessary to ensure proper identity. All information must be typed or printed legibly in ink. Claim forms that are incomplete or improperly signed will not be processed.

## **Application Status and Exemption**

The Office of Commissioner of Banks may take up to 30 days to process this claim. If there are questions regarding your application, you may be asked to furnish additional information. Once approved, you will be notified by mail.

## Notification of Changes

Claimants are required to keep all information on file with the Commissioner current. If the information contained in the initial filing changes in any material respect, the Claimant must notify the Commissioner within 15 days of the effective date of such change.

(Rev 05/2025)

#### Please mail the completed form to:

Administrator, NC Credit Union Division, 205 W. Millbrook Rd., Suite 105 Raleigh, NC 27609

#### Or email your completed form to <a href="mailto:support@nccud.nc.gov">support@nccud.nc.gov</a>

#### **Questions:**

Contact NCCUD by phone at (984) 275-6730 or send your questions via email to <u>support@nccud.nc.gov</u> for additional assistance.

Office Use Only					
No					
Date:/					

# Claim of Exemption from the NC SAFE Act

1.	Name of Claimant:						
	. Name of Claimant: (Insert full legal name of business) Federal Tax ID (or SSN):						
	Federal Tax ID (or SSN):						
2	2. If Claimant is operating under an assumed name (DBA), list name here:						
2.	. In Channant is operating under an assumed name (DDA), list name nere:						
	(Attach copy of <b>recorded</b> certificate of assumed name.)						
	(Attach copy of <b>recorded</b> certificate of assumed name.)						
3.	Principal Business Address: (Provide a street address.)						
	City:         State:         Zip Code:         County:						
	Telephone Number:    Fax Number:						
	Email: Website:						
	Mailing Address (If different from street address shown above):						
	maning Address (II different from sheet address showil above).						
	City:         State:         Zip Code:						
Λ	Basis for Claim of Exemption:						
4.	Basis for Claim of Exemption.						
	Is Claimant engaged in business as a credit union under the laws of the United States,						
	this State or any other state? (If "Yes" Claimant must file this form with:						
	Administrator, North Carolina Credit Union Division, 205 W. Millbrook Rd.,						
	Suite 105, Raleigh, NC 27609.)						
	If Claimant is a subsidiary of a credit union, provide for parent depository						
	institution:						
	Name of parent depository institution:						
	NCUA Insurance #:						

5. Identify the primary federal or state authority responsible for regulating Claimant's mortgage lending operations:

a. Primary Federal Regulator and assigned Identifying Number	

None NCUA Other:	
NCUA Charter Number:	
b. Primary State Regulator:	
State Agency Address:	
License/ID No. assigned to Claimant by State Agency shown above:	
nder penalties of perjury, I affirm that I have examined this Claim of Exemption, and any	

Under penalties of perjury, I affirm that I have examined this Claim of Exemption, and any accompanying information, to the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct and complete, and I, the undersigned, am authorized to sign on behalf of Claimant. I understand that any exemption, if found to exist, may not be transferred and that if the Claimant is sold or its organizational structure is changed a new Claim of Exemption must be filed. I further understand that although exempt, Claimant's failure to comply with the provisions of NCGS §53-244.111 **Prohibited activities** may result in the imposition of civil penalties.

Witness my hand and seal (or company s	seal) this day of _	, 20
(Name)		_
ATTEST:	_ Signature:	(Seal)
Name:	Name:	
Title:	Title:	
STATE OF		
COUNTY OF		
The undersigned notary for said county a acknowledged that he or she is	and state certifies that (name of officer) p	ersonally came before me this day and
acknowledged that he or she is	(title) of	
	(name of	[ firm ], and that by authority duly
given and that as the act of the partnersh	ip/corporation the foregoi	ng Application and agreement were
signed in its name by its		(title), sealed with his/its
corporate seal, and attested by its		(attesting officer).
Witness my hand and official seal this	day of	, 20
(SEAL)	Notar	y Public
	My Co	ommission expires: